the Laguna Mountains – Day 1

Since it was going to be toasty at the campground today, we decided to head east to Mount Laguna for some hiking. At 5,500 feet, it was nice and cool. And windy. My kind of hiking weather. The trail we planned on hiking was muddy and we didn’t wear the correct shoes, so we just meandered on an old road for about 7ish miles. Heading back up tomorrow for a Christmas Day hike.

It was a gentle climb the entire way in.
DSCN4555

Notice my faux hawk?!
DSCN4551

Nice views of some other mountains. I’d like to find them and hike up. The view from there must be fantastic
DSCN4557

DSCN4562

Sam catching the breeze
DSCN4559

At that high of elevation, there was ice and snow in the shady areas
DSCN4563

That pine tree on the left was huge! It’s so hard to show that in photos. Look how tiny the dogs look beside it
DSCN4564

DSCN4566

I don’t know what made me stop and look at the root behind me, but I’m glad I did. Look at all the cool patterns
DSCN4575

It’s like Van Gogh’s Starry Night painting
DSCN4573

DSCN4571

DSCN4570

It was just as fascinated with the super bright green moss growing on the pine trees
DSCN4576

DSCN4578

DSCN4579

DSCN4580

DSCN4581

DSCN4583

DSCN4595

DSCN4596

DSCN4577

Almost 90% of the time when I put the Boys together for a photo, this is what I get. Thanks guys for being so cooperative
DSCN4593

Hiking out
DSCN4586

2 thoughts on “the Laguna Mountains – Day 1

Thoughts?!?

